2024 NACA Annual Awards
Nominations Open on August 1st 2024


Do you know someone who deserves recognition for the work that they do in the animal care and control field?

The National Animal Care & Control Association understands that the work we do is physically and emotionally demanding, and requires individuals of the strongest character. Therefore, we have been recognizing individuals, agencies, organizations, and state associations for more than 25 years on the national level for their service within the animal care and control field.

Those of us working in animal care and control know exactly how much sacrifice and dedication it takes to truly excel in this field. Show how much you appreciate the dedication of your fellow officers, kennel personnel, office staff, volunteers, state associations, veterinarians, and industry partners, by them for one of the NACA Awards listed below in August, 2024. 

Join NACA Today!

Become a part of the largest community of animal care and control professionals in the country.


The Bill Lehman Memorial Award

This award is given to an individual not directly employed in the animal care and control field, but who has shown an exceptional awareness in animal care and control related matters, which merits distinction. The recipient will be recognized as a “friend” of animal care and control, for contributions and outstanding action that has helped further the positive image of animal care and control professionals through local, state, or national animal control associations.

The Diane Lane Memorial Award

This award is for outstanding volunteer service. The nominee selected to win this award is someone who is not directly employed in the animal care and control field but serves in a volunteer capacity within the animal care and control field or other animal welfare-related activities. He or she will have demonstrated exceptional dedication or performed outstanding work far beyond the volunteer position’s requirements. To nominate someone for this award, you must work with or have direct first-hand knowledge of the nominee. Support or services provided by the nominee shall have directly benefited your agency or organization.

The Animal Care and Control Employee of the Year Award – 2 Awards:
(Individual NACA Membership Required)

Animal Control Officer of the Year

Animal Care/Shelter Professional of the Year

These awards are given to  individuals that have been directly involved in the animal care and control profession for a minimum of five years and are a current individual NACA member. Recipients may be nominated for a single outstanding achievement in animal one of the three specific groups, or long-term exceptional performance in the animal care and control field.

Leader of the Year

Annually, the National Animal Care and Control Association recognizes leadership excellence in the field of Animal Control. The Leader of the Year has made significant and positive impact on advancing progressive Animal Control. This individual displays growth, empathy and passion in leading their team to new heights in supporting the people and pets in their community. NACA believes a true leader is not made through the title of their role, but rather how they positively influence those around them. This individual may formally lead a team through the position of Director, Manager, Supervisor, or may simply leverage positive growth from others by working beside them. This individual will have made a significant singular impact on their community or a series of small efforts to help grow those around them. The Leader of the Year must be currently employed with an Animal Control agency and must be in good standing with the National Animal Care and Control Association.

The Outstanding State Association Award

This award recognizes the State Animal Control Association that best promotes and exemplifies professionalism in the animal care and control field. Factors considered in granting this award include the number of active members, increases in new members, improved quality of animal care and control programs within their state, active sponsors of seminars and training for members, and engaged in NACA sponsored training and events. The recipient of this award must be a current NACA Affiliated State Association.

The Outstanding Animal Care and Control Agency Award

This award is given to a current Agency Member of NACA. This award’s selection criterion includes effective training programs for personnel, outstanding/innovative public education programs, active community involvement, and average officer response time to calls for assistance.

A Big Thank You to
Animal Care Equipment & Services
for Sponsoring NACA's 2023 Awards!