2013 NACA AWARDS

If you attended the NACA training conference in September 2013 to learn and network, you certainly got what you came for. The opportunities were abundant. With national speakers and instructors from across the country, attendees were able to receive instruction on innovative programs and techniques such as the ASV shelter guidelines, officer safety, creative enforcement, criminal investigations and urban chickens. There was ample opportunity for speakers and attendees to get one-on-one time during the luncheon and workshop breaks in the exhibit area.

The attendees came from a vast array of professions that included animal control and animal welfare field officers, dispatchers, clerks, animal care professionals, directors, command staff, volunteers, and members from multiple humane societies. NACA members went away with a wealth of knowledge and many new friends for life.

Not only was this conference for training and networking, but also to honor those who gave so much in the line of duty—even to the extent of giving their own lives. The National Animal Control Association (NACA) honored six recipients from across the United States for their sacrifice, dedication and outstanding service in the field of animal control work.

According to NACA President Todd Stosuy, "Those in the animal welfare world know all too well how much compassion and dedication their officers, volunteers and veterinarians put into each day they come to work with limited resources and never enough time. It is our pleasure to honor these individuals and agencies for their professionalism and generous contributions to their communities."

The Award Committee received nominations from across the country for the six award categories below, and NACA is proud to announce the 2013 NACA Award Winners.



The Animal Control Employee of the YearAward is given to a person directly involved in the animal control profession and a current member of NACA. The recipient is nominated for a single outstanding achievement in animal control or for long-term exceptional performance. This year's award went to Outstanding Animal Control Employee of the Year David Aycock, ACO, City of Pompano Beach, Florida.



The Outstanding State Association Award is based on current affiliation with NACA, meaning that 100 percent of the association's membership must also be NACA members, they must demonstrate improved quality of animal control programs within their state, be active sponsors of seminars and training for members and be active in NACA-sponsored training. This year's winner was the Colorado Association of Animal Control Officers (CAACO), Boulder, Colorado.

The R.D. "Bob" Ward Posthumous Award is given to an animal control employee who died in the line of duty. This year's award goes to Animal Control Officer Roy Curtis Marcum from Sacramento, California, who was shot and killed in the line of duty on Nov. 28, 2012, in Galt, California, while carrying out his duties. Roy's wife, Tina Marcum, was present at the event to speak and receive his award.



The Diane Lane Memorial Award is given for outstanding volunteer service by someone who is not directly employed in the animal control field, but volunteers in animal welfare-related activities. They have demonstrated exceptional dedication and performed outstanding work far beyond the requirements of the volunteer position. This year's recipient was Steve Glardon, Volunteer, Montgomery County Animal Resource Center (ARC), Montgomery, County Ohio.



The Bill Lehman Memorial Award is given to a person not directly employed at the agency who has shown exceptional awareness in animal control related matters further promoting a positive image which merits distinction. This year's recipient was Catherine M. Petersen, Communications Manager, Montgomery County, Ohio.

The Outstanding Animal Control Agency Award is selected based on an effective training program for personnel, outstanding/innovative public education programs, active community involvement, and officer response time to calls for assistance. This year's recipient was **The Nebraska Humane Society (NHS).**



